In addition to the simple Like we all know, Facebook introduced a way for users to be wowed, literally. The social network rolled out ‘Reactions’ to all users on both desktop and mobile, and now our social feelings have come down to these six emotions – like, love, haha, wow, sad, and angry. With updated icons and all, users now have the freedom to give meaning to their like. This change comes after Zuckerberg and team wanting to give users the opportunity to react to situations with more than just a ‘Like,’ especially when a like is not appropriate.


The 7 Things Brands Need To Know

  • When users tap and hold the ‘Like’ button, a set of emoji expand to show all 6 emotions. Users can drag their finger or mouse (depending on device) and select the emotion they wish to express for that particular post.
  • Instead of counting just ‘Likes’, Facebook will show the total Reaction engagement, displaying the most popular Reactions on the post to prevent clutter. If users/Pages want to see the breakdown of each Reactions, they can click on the count number and the emotion count will be parceled out.
  • ‘Reactions’ give brands a more accurate understanding of what the audience is really feeling when they ‘Like’ a post, and what type of emotions resonate with each post. Overtime, Facebook may begin to weigh each Reaction differently within the News Feed and tailor how they’re presented to users based on the types of emotions they express towards posts. Stay tuned.


  • Standardizing emotions through Reactions eliminates language barriers and allows brands to capture emotion from a larger audience; therefore, brands can engage more with their global following – goodbye complexity, hello global insights!
  • Brands should develop content that purposely elicits a user response to test user sentiment towards different topics, ultimately influencing future content and strategy.
  • Brands can utilize new ‘Reactions’ as a tool to increase user engagement by including a direct call to action in each post and asking audience to share their sentiment via emoticons.
  • The Red Flag: With this update, users have the ability to respond to posts in a more nuanced way. As of right now, this feature is not optional and cannot be manually turned off, so social media admins will want to step up their monitoring game.

For additional resources:

Facebook’s New Reactions

Facebook Releases Reactions

Reactions Now Available Globally